Asconas & Mantas in NZ and Aus...?

For non-technical car discussion and general banter and jokes. Keep it clean(ish).

Moderator: 001 Neville

Asconas & Mantas in NZ and Aus...?

Postby 069 Lindsay » 28 Oct 2008, 13:52

I have been trawling the internet for a few years now on the (Very!) off chance an Ascona or Manta B might Pop up in Australia.

The closest I have seen in OZ has been a few Monzas, and these that came up at auction a few years back

http://www.bonhamsandgoodman.com.au/lot ... auction=85

Seen a few come up thru the Opel Manta owners club in the UK obviously, but the cost of importation from the UK is quite high...especially now the way the Aus $ is going!

Which brings me to NZ, the Aus $ is still quite strong against the NZ $, and only recently have I noticed you seem to have a few mantas for sale there..!..?

Were they sold in NZ new?....I have looked into GM's history in NZ and it seems they just import cars from whomever takes there fancy at the time, in the 60's it seemed to be Chev, in the 70's Holden, 80's Opel and so forth...?

Does anyone know of any Asconas in NZ?

Do many mantas come up for sale in NZ?...preferably Coupes

And does anyone know of 'any' Mantas or Asconas in Australia at all?

Sorry for all the questions :)

Cheers

Lindsay
069 Lindsay

Postby 020 Brad » 28 Oct 2008, 14:54

I too have been keeping an eye out for Ascona B's in NZ for the past year or so and I still haven't seen one or even a sign of any having ever been in the country.

We do seem to have things around about that age and you should be able to find a nice Manta for sale here if you decide to head down that path. One thing I have noticed is that in the past 2 or so years I don't think I have seen a coupe Manta B, only hatch ones which appear to be a lot less sort after.